The Cabin of Peter the Great

The Cabin of Peter the Great2017-08-17T22:17:03+00:00

Welcome to the Cabin of Peter the Great!

Day Opening hours
Monday 10 am — 6 pm
Tuesday The Museum is closed
Wednesday 10 am — 6 pm
Thursday 1 pm — 9 pm
Friday 10 am — 6 pm
Saturday 10 am — 6 pm
Sunday 10 am — 6 pm

Ticket offices close 30 minutes earlier

Cabin of Peter the Great is closed on last Monday of each month

Address: 6 Petrovskaya Embankment

Getting here: Metro – Gorkovskaya

The first house of St. Petersburg

The Cabin of Peter the Great was the first house to be built in St. Petersburg. Peter the Great ordered  the construction of his house on  May 27th (June 5th) 1703. The tsar designated the spot for its construction on the left bank of the Neva not far from the fortress on Beryozovy Island.

The first tsarist “mansions” look lake the rectangular “six-wall” traditional Russian peasant’s log cabin “izba”. Raw, resinous logs were shaped and painted like bricks only after they dried. “Dutch” windows stretched horizontally with small square window glasses  were tipical for the houses of the time. The high wooden (shingle) roof was also painted imitating the bright turquoise tiles. On the ridge of the roof carved wooden cannons and two “blazing bombs” (lost in the 18th century) were installed. The cannons were a reminder that a captain –bombardier lived in the house.

Seven wide windows framed by lead bindings shone with the iridescence of “moon” glass. The door jambs and window frames were decorated with floral garlands on a black background and the the door were decorated with paintings of landscapes. The shutters painted  richly with vermillion were hung on ornate gilded hinges. At night, the windows were shuttered and bolted. The ceiling in the rooms was lower than 2.5 meters. The doors of Peter’s Cabin decorated with two metal ornamental plates were replica of the doors of Moscow chambers of the 17th century. A bronze plate with Peter the Great’s height- two meters and four centimeter- hangs above the door.

The first St. Petersburg home of the tsar was not large. It is 12 meters long by 5.4 meters wide and 5.8 meters high. There is a small anteroom in the center. Like in all Russian izbas it divides the Cabin into two halves. The room on the right from the anteroom served as an office where the ruler worked and received visitors, and on the left is the dining room to which the kitchen is attached. A door leads from the dining room  to a cramped bedroom.

The Cabin’s architecture is a reminiscent of Dutch construction fashion.

Initially the Cabin stood on a promontory from which a panorama was opened onto  of the opposite bank of the river, as well as a view at the Peter and Paul Fortress. Later after the reconstruction of the low and frequently flooded bank of the river was made the promontory disappeared, and the Cabin of Peter the Great  appeared to be at some distance from the Neva.

Cabin of Peter the Great after his reign

During the reign of Emperor Nicholas I a chapel was built in the Cabin, which featured an image of the Savior in a carved wooden frame that Peter the Great had taken with him on military campaigns. A copy of the prayer “Our Father” rewritten by Peter’s daughter Elizabeth was hanged on the wall.

After the Winter and the Summer palaces were built the ruler did not return to the Cabin. In 1714, a wooden “cover” in the form of a gallery was designed by Domenico Trezzini.

The open gallery was  impractical due to autumn with its floods and winter with  snow drafts, and upon the order of the tsar, Trezzini developed a new design. In August 1723 by a special decree of Peter the Great a stone gallery began to be built over the Cabin in order to preserve it “for the future.” The stone cover’s construction was an affirmation of the architectural and historical significance of the city’s first building. Since then, the Cabin of Peter the Great has become a memorial; it has been protected and carefully passed down from generation to generation as a witness to a heroic epoch that was a turning point in Russia’s history.

In 1765, the architect S. A. Volkov dewsinged a garden around the house.

The Trezzini cover stood until 1784.

After the 1777 flood  Catherine the Great orded  “To protect the Cabin with a wooden cover on a solid foundation with a metal roof.” The old cover was dismantled and the new one was constructed in 1784 on the foundation of the old, preserving its architectural appearance. This construction has not survived to present day.

Cabin of Peter the Great in 19th century

In 1833, Nicholas I ordered the installation of piles by the bank near the Cabin as well as a garden and a trellis, which were carried out under the supervision of an architect by the name of Williams.

During the period 1841-1844 the garden was created according to the design of architects Roman Kuzmin and Reimers. This time there was a suggestion to construct a high cobblestones bulwark around the gallery with layers of moss and greensward between them following the line of the garden. In two corners of the wall supports made from large rocks were added and placed on moss for durability so that the river waves would break on them. Around the garden, a bulwark of 1 arshin (71 cm) was constructed on the southern side (from Petrovskaya Street), 2.5 arshin on the Neva side, and from 1 to 1.5 arshin on the other two.

At the same time the garden was designed, paths were laid and tamped down, soil was brought for five flower beds, lawns were lined with greensward and flowers from the Tavrichesky Glasshouse were planted. A new garden was planted along the bulwark. In connection with major work on the construction of a new cover for the Cabin of Peter the Great, which began summer 1844, Kuznetsov, the garden master, transplanted the bushes and flowers into the Summer Garden. On the spot of the former gallery a new stone cover was built that consists of 16 brick columns with arcades, plastered brickwork, and wide windows with small panes. Trees, bushes, and flowers were planned at the area around the cabin.

Vaulted tunnels that served as drainage were built underneath the Cabin. In 1889 designed by Nikolai Salko two kinds of “pockets” were built on the northern and southern sides. The structure resembled a cross. After nearly 100 years in 1971-1972 the cover was restored and measured. The results showed that despite the prior constructions, the cover retained the proportions and size of Trezzini gallery.

Garden around the Cabin of Peter the Great

In the second half of the 19th century on the territory adjusted to the cabin on the bank of the Neva a garden was designed (architects Roman Kuzmin, Reimers, and garden master Kuznetsov), which was surrounded by a diagonal cast-iron fence which construction was funded by private donations.

In 1875 a bronze bust of Peter the Great was installed at the entrance of the garden. It was cast from a model by the sculptor Parmen Sabello and was surrounded by a cast-iron fence. The fence and bust of Peter the Great exist till today.

In autumn 1889 after the completion of work on the reconstruction of the cover was finished the garden was redesigned. 500 hawthorn bushes were planted along the fence. The paths that visitors still walk along today were created from hand-rolled brick fragments and the lawns were laid with greensward. The garden required watering and in the spring of 1890 the first water supplying system in the city was created especially for the garden.

In 1899, the central gate on Petrovskaya Street was redone. It became a three-part gate. Along the sides of the fence two streetlamps on cast-iron columns were installed which have survived to present day without any alterations.

The waterfront of 1874, the location of which is reminiscent of the second garden fence, closer to the Neva, existed until the late 19th century. The Petrovskaya Embankment acquired its current appearance in 1901-1903 as a result of a reconstruction  designed by the architect L. I. Novikov and the engineer Fyodor Zbrozhek.

Damaged by bombs and shells during the Siege of Leningrad the Cabin was reconstructed in 1944. It was the first museum to reopen for the public after the Blockade ended. In 1971-1976 major restoration work was done from a plan by architect Alexander Gessen.

In 1999 a full-scale restoration was undertaken, featuring the recreation of the historical layout of the land and the fence of the external garden. The inner fence was restored with all  details and it was painted using an authentic paint color

Домик Петра I

Домик Петра I 2017-08-17T22:17:03+00:00

Домик Петра I открыт для посещения:

День недели Часы работы
Понедельник 10:00—18:00
Вторник Выходной день
Среда 10:00—18:00
Четверг 13:00—21:00
Пятница 10:00—18:00
Суббота 10:00—18:00
Воскресенье 10:00—18:00

Кассы закрываются на полчаса раньше

Последний понедельник месяца санитарный день

Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Петровская наб., 6

Как добраться: Метро «Горьковская»

Автобус: №49, К30

Трамвай: №3, №6а

Первая постройка в Петербурге

Домик Петра I – первая постройка в Санкт-Петербурге. Дом Петр велел поставить для себя 27 мая (5 июня) 1703 года. Для его строительства царь указал место: на левом берегу Невы, недалеко от крепости, на Березовом острове.

Первоначально царские «хоромы» напоминали прямоугольную русскую избу-шестистенок. Сырые смолистые бревна не сразу стесали и расписали под кирпич, а только после того, как они просохли. «Голландские» окна, вытянутые по горизонтали, с мелкими квадратными переплетами были обычными для строительства того времени. Высокую деревянную (гонтовую) крышу тоже не сразу раскрасили под черепицу ярко бирюзового цвета. На коньке крыши установили резные деревянные мортиры и две «пылающие бомбы» (утрачены в XVII веке). Мортиры напоминали о том, что в доме живет капитан — бомбардир.

Семь широких окон, обрамленных свинцовыми переплетами, переливались радужным сиянием «лунного» стекла. Косяки дверей и наличники окон украшали цветочные гирлянды на черном фоне, а полотна дверей — пейзажи. Ставни, окрашенные сочной киноварью, были подвешены на фигурных золоченых петлях. На ночь окна закрывались ставнями и запирались болтами. Потолки в комнатах низкие 2,5 метра. Двери Домика Петра I, украшенные двумя металлическими орнаментальными накладками, напоминают двери московских палат XVII века. Над дверью слева прикреплена бронзовая пластинка с указанием роста Петра Великого — 2 м 4 см.

Первый петербургский дом царя небольшой. Его Длина 12 м, ширина 5,4 м, высота 5,8 м. В центре располагались небольшие сени. Как во всех русских избах, они делят Домик Петра на две половины. Комната справа от сеней служила кабинетом, где государь занимался делами и принимал сановников, а слева – столовая, к которой была пристроена кухня. Из столовой дверь ведет в тесную спальню.

По архитектуре Домик напоминает голландскую постройку.

Первоначально Домик Петра I стоял на мысе, с которого открывалась панорама противоположного берега реки, а так же вид на Петропавловскую крепость. В дальнейшем, в связи с укреплением низкого и часто затапливаемого берега реки, мыс исчез, а Домик Петра оказался в некотором удалении от Невы.

При императоре Николае I в Домике устроили часовню, где поместили  образ Спасителя в резной деревянной раме, бывший с Петром I  в походах, и повесили молитву «Отче наш», собственноручно переписанную дочерью Петра Елизаветой.

После того как были построены Зимний и Летний дворцы, государь  сюда больше не возвращался. В  1714 году над Домиком по проекту Д. Трезини был создан деревянный «чехол» в виде галереи.

Осень с наводнениями и зима со снежными заносами показали  непрактичность открытой галереи, и по указанию царя архитектор Трезини разрабатывает новый проект. В августе 1723 года по особому указу Петра I над  Домиком начали возводить каменную галерею, что бы сохранить его «на будущие годы». Возведением каменного футляра было признано градостроительное и историческое значение первого дома города. С этого времени Домик Петра I стал мемориалом, он охраняется и бережно передается от поколения к поколению как свидетель героической эпохи, ставшей переломным моментом в истории России.

Домик Петра I после смерти царя

В 1765 году архитектор С.А. Волков провел благоустройство прилегающей территории и окружил дом палисадником. Трезиниевский футляр простоял до 1784 года.

После наводнения 1777 года последовал приказ Екатерины II: «Оградить Домик Петра I каменным чехлом на прочном фундаменте с крышей, покрытой кровельным железом». Старый чехол разобрали, а новый возвели в 1784 году на фундаменте прежнего, сохраняя его архитектурный облик. До нашего времени эта постройка не сохранилась.

Домик Петра I в XIX веке

В 1833 г. императором Николаем Павловичем высочайше повелено произвести набивку свай около берега, прилегающего к Домику, и устроить полисадник и шпалерник, что и было выполнено под наблюдением архитектора Вильямса.

В период 1841-1844г.г. произведена разбивка сада по проекту архитекторов Р.И.Кузьмина и Реймерса. На этот раз было предложено сделать вокруг галереи по линии сада высокий вал из булыжного камня, переложенного мхом и землей, а на двух углах устроить вспомогательный откос из крупного камня, который для прочности положить на мху, чтобы первые валы разбивались об него. Вокруг садика соорудили вал высотой с северной стороны  (с Петровской улицы) 1 аршин (71 см), со стороны Невы — 2,5 аршина и с двух боковых сторон от 1 до 1,5 аршин.

Одновременно распланировали сад, проложили  и утрамбовали дорожки, завезли землю для пяти клумб, газоны выстлали дерном, посадили цветы из Таврических оранжерей. По линии откоса сделали новый палисад. В связи с большими работами по сооружению нового футляра над Домиком, которые начались летом 1844 года, садовый мастер Кузнецов, чтобы сохранить кустарники и цветы, пересадил их в Летний сад. Вместо прежней галереи выстроен новый каменный чехол, состоящий из 16 кирпичных столбов  с аркадами, с оштукатуренной кирпичной кладкой и широкими окнами с мелкой расстекловкой. Площадка у домика распланирована с посадкой деревьев, кустов и устройством полисада.

Под Домиком проложили сводчатые тоннели, служившие водосборниками. В 1889 году по проекту архитектора Н.М. Салько с северной и южной сторон построили два своеобразных «кармана». В плане постройка получила  форму креста. Почти через сто лет, в 1971-1972 годах, проведена реставрация и выполнен обмер футляра. Исследования показали, что, несмотря на прежние перестройки, футляр сохранил пропорции и размеры трезиниевской галереи.

Во второй половине XIX века на территории, примыкающей к Домику со стороны Невы, разбили сад (архитекторы Р.И. Кузьмин, Реймерс и садовый мастер Кузнецов), который обнесли чугунной узорчатой оградой,  изготовленной на частные пожертвования.

В 1875 году при входе в сад установили бронзовый бюст Петра I, отлитый по модели скульптора П.П. Забелло и окруженный чугунной решеткой. Ограда и бюст Петра сохранились до нашего времени.

Сад вокруг Домика Петра I

Осенью 1889 года, после завершения работ по реконструкции футляра, перепланировали и сад. Вдоль ограды высадили 500 кустов боярышника, из кирпичной крошки, укатанной ручным катком,  сделали дорожки, по которым ходят сегодняшние посетители, а газоны выложили луговым дерном. Уход за садом требовал воды, и весной 1890 года здесь появилась первая в городе водопроводная сеть, созданная специально для полива.

В 1889 году были переделаны центральные ворота со стороны Петровской улицы. Они стали трехчастными. По сторонам ворот установили два уличных фонаря на чугунных столбах, сохранившихся до настоящего времени без изменений.

Петровская набережная

Береговая линия 1874 года, о месте которой напоминает вторая, ближняя к Неве решетка сада, просуществовала до конца XIX столетия. Современный облик Петровская набережная приобрела в 1901-1903 годах в результате реконструкции по проекту архитектора Л.И. Новикова и инженера Ф.Г. Зброжека.

Пострадавший от бомб и снарядов во время блокады Ленинграда Домик Петра I восстановили в 1944 году. После снятия блокады он стал первым музеем, открытым для посещения. В 1971-1976 годах по проекту архитектора А.Э. Гессена были осуществлены большие реставрационные работы.

В 1999 году произведена комплексная реставрация с воссозданием исторической планировки участка и ограды внешнего сада. Отреставрирована внутренняя ограда с воссозданием всех утраченных деталей и подлинной окраски.